《THE LAST CHILD》

SDIM3405

Reading makes me feel peaceful. It keeps out all the noise so that I can have a soul communication with the author, as well as myself.

Reading was not my hobby. I would rather surf the internet than read a book in the past. But I am more likely to sit down and read now, even though my eyes get dry and my neck becomes stiff after too much reading.

《THE LAST CHILD》is a book I borrowed from one of the “little free library” in our neighbourhood. The title attracted me, as I thought it would be some story about family.

IMG_20160126_1530468_rewind

In short, this book tells a story that a twelve-year-old girl was disappeared and the family broke down because of too much pain and too much guilt. The mother never forgave the father because he was supposed to pick the girl up that day. People thought the father left and never came back again because of guilt. The mother was devastated and sank into drugs. Johnny, the last child, the twin brother of the missing girl, took the responsibility, and risked his life to track down the dangerous characters to find his sister. And Hunt, the detective of this case, concerned about this family and never gave up to find out the truth.

It turned out that the girl was not abducted, but was killed accidently by Johnny’s best friend’s brother, who drove drunk that night. And the father of the killer, who was a cop, forced them not to tell and hid the whole thing. Furthermore, Johnny’s father didn’t left his family. He was found dead because of finding his daughter.

It is a detective novel, but it is a book about family too (and many other things, such as friendship too).

I admire Johnny. He is so smart and strong and brave even if he is only a little boy. People have to stay strong but not devastated against disasters. If not, the whole family, the ones you love will suffer even much more.

I think people have to face and conquer the fear from the inside, so that they can stay strong and brave truly. “The fear itself is the gateway to go through”(from《BEAUTY IN DECAY》). We can find our way out only when we find out the truth of our fear.We can live smartly after we conquer our true fear, and then we will not regret ourselves.

 

Leave a comment